Skip to content

Reading until I fall asleep

April 20, 2013

When I was a skinny, awkward 7-year-old with stick-straight hair the color of dirt and a space between my two big white front teeth, I fell asleep reading every night. I’d read until my eyes couldn’t stay open and the words on the pages blurred together, and only then would I place my book on my bedside table and burrow deeper into my pillow, falling unconscious with words and images from the day and my book blurring together in my mind.

I feel asleep with a book from about the age of seven until age 16. That’s when I got a cell phone and started falling asleep texting my friends instead. I also didn’t have as much to read at that age, since I didn’t have access to a good library or money to buy books.

It’s been years and years since I fell asleep reading. Now I watch Netflix as I’m falling asleep. But I still think reading before bed is healthier than falling asleep watching a screen (whether that’s a phone, TV, or computer), so I think I’ll try to start reading at night again.

reading in bed 1

From → Posts

2 Comments
  1. I think they have done research about how lighted screens can disrupt your sleep cycle. I always read before bed, but I usually need to choose a lighter book that doesn’t require a lot of concentration.

    Also, I nominated you for the Very Inspiring Blogger Award! 🙂

Leave a Reply

